The Karnataka Medical Council website is not a secure connection. Should I be worried?

Hi!

I am a doctor with primary registration with the Karnataka Medical Council (KMC). During the process of registration, a long list of documents were to be uploaded to the website which include Aadhar card, 10th std marks card, provisional registration, provisional degree certificate, university exams marks cards etc. We were also required to complete biometric verification where all ten fingerprints were taken along with our photograph.

Most of this information is available on the website after logging into my account using the user id and password given.

I required a No Objection Certificate from the council recently for some paperwork, therefore I logged in to my account to fill a form and make the required payment. During this process, I noticed that the connection is not secure (I used the Safari browser) and clicking anywhere would open a random webpage (like a misleading advertisement) each time before directing me to the page I wanted to open. I had to keep closing many unrelated pop-ups. This made me wonder how secure the website is in the first place because it contains a huge amount of information about all the registered doctors in the state of Karnataka.

According to the website, it is managed by ‘V Works Software Pvt Ltd’ -

V Works Software Pvt ltd is Karnataka medical council approved agency (As per the KMC Online CME eligibility criteria) under medical code of ethics -2002 constituted by Government of India in consultation with Medical council of India.

V Works software Pvt Ltd is a single company in India comes with more than half dozen State medical councils process automation expatriation from past 6 years. We are authorized to video shoot KMC/KSNC/KSDC/KAUPB approved speaker session, place in website make practitioner to purchase the video at kmc approved cost, monitoring the test taking process and allocating credit points to doctors.