Small Actions Matter : The story behind the tectonic shift on Aarogya Setu

On 3rd May 2020, I woke up to a Section 144 order passed by the ADCP, Gautam Buddha Nagar mandating the use of Aarogya Setu App. Additionally, its non-compliance was made criminally punishable with imprisonment and/or fine. Reading further on the topic, I came across a statement of the Commissioner of Police, Noida that said – “ If a person does not have a smartphone, they will be asked to get one or fetch it from their homes. Who does not have a smartphone these days?” The utter disregard of the prevalent social condition in this statement shook my conscience and I decided to get this order modified.

Like most of you, I am also not a social activist. I am a lawyer who works with the Government to formulate legislation and policies. I usually do not engage with the authorities in order to fight for my democratic rights. However, my decision to get the Order amended was firm and therefore I sought support from IFF to prepare my representation. After identifying the legal infirmities in the Order, on 6th May I sent my representation to the Commissioner of Noida and ADCP urging them to make necessary modifications in the Order. The Order, apart from being a textbook case of executive overreach, was against Article 21 & the Right to Privacy judgment.